Shop Spying on the South: An Odyssey Across the American Divide – Luggage Factory

Penguin Press

Spying on the South: An Odyssey Across the American Divide

  • $Sale
  • $Regular price $0.00

  • Select from our In stock colors and styles




Ships within 24 Hours | 29 All In Stock

You May Also Like These


QUESTIONS & ANSWERS

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question


Author: Tony Horwitz

EISBN: 9781101980293

Format: Kindle eBook

Number Of Pages: 492

Publisher: Penguin Press

Details: A New York Times bestseller 

The best-selling author of Confederates in the Attic returns to the South and the Civil War era for an epic adventure on the trail of America's greatest landscape architect.


In the 1850s, the young Frederick Law Olmsted was adrift, a restless farmer and dreamer in search of a mission. He found it during an extraordinary journey, as an undercover correspondent in the South for the up-and-coming New York Times.

For the Connecticut Yankee, pen name "Yeoman," the South was alien, often hostile territory. Yet Olmsted traveled for 14 months, by horseback, steamboat, and stagecoach, seeking dialogue and common ground. His vivid dispatches about the lives and beliefs of Southerners were revelatory for readers of his day, and Yeoman's remarkable trek also reshaped the American landscape, as Olmsted sought to reform his own society by creating democratic spaces for the uplift of all. The result: Central Park and Olmsted's career as America's first and foremost landscape architect.

Tony Horwitz rediscovers Yeoman Olmsted amidst the discord and polarization of our own time. Is America still one country? In search of answers, and his own adventures, Horwitz follows Olmsted's tracks and often his mode of transport (including muleback): through Appalachia, down the Mississippi River, into bayou Louisiana, and across Texas to the contested Mexican borderland. Venturing far off beaten paths, Horwitz uncovers bracing vestiges and strange new mutations of the Cotton Kingdom. Horwitz's intrepid and often hilarious journey through an outsized American landscape is a masterpiece in the tradition of Great Plains, Bad Land, and the author's own classic, Confederates in the Attic.

Release Date: 2019-05-14

Languages: English



Click to edit the product in Ali Orders.
Note: only show for shop owner